I am proud to be European because…

 

…it enables me to have a broader identity and belong to an enlarged world.

…Europe in recent history has undergone 2 World Wars and finally stood up. And it’s still enlarging and integrating.

…it gives me the opportunity to travel all around Europe using only my ID.

..I can visit, work (with equal access to the EU Civil Service), live with no restrictions, while I can use (in most cases) the same currency, the euro. Of course, I am given the chance to experience Europe through studying as well.

Living for a long period of time in a new environment with a mix of culture, broadens my horizons, makes me a better and more capable personality with stronger capacity and clearer goals.

…product exchange is much easier and thus I can buy things as well as services easier and in a lower price. Taxes are lower if you are associating with other countries.

…in case of emergency, I can use for medically, state-provided healthcare my special European Health Insurance Card in any of the 28 (at least for now) Member States, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

Yes, I feel safe in the European Union as long as I possess this card.

…consular and diplomatic authorities of each country can protect me when I am abroad.

…the European Omdudsman is working for me as well. Provided that the European Union Institutions or other EU bodies might in some cases mistreat me owing to poor administration, I can submit a report and let this body investigate my case.

…we are moving science ahead by making progressive steps. Real technological breakthroughs would have never been possible if European scientists were not collaborating.

…my voice is heard when it comes to the nomination of  the delegation of Europe. The European Parliament consists of politicians that me, you and every European citizen is voting for. Let alone that everyone is able to express his or her opinion to the European Commission, aiming to urge the institution submit a legislative proposal according to our interests.

…I manage to have access to official EU documents of the European Parliament, the European Commission and the European Council, letting me know about all kinds of public policy affairs. Transparency in all meetings and decisions of the EU bodies assure me of the validity of the procedures as well as the results.

…my rights are definitely protected by the Court of Justice, which encompasses the judiciary.

…democracy, equal opportunities for all, meritocracy, transparency, multiculturalism, solidarity, liberty, the rule of law and respect for the human rights, pluralism, tolerance and justice are values of the European Union. They are a stable basis, a common ground, according to which policies and political decisions (should) start.

…when it comes to global challenges and threats, even if it sounds weird, I am feeling that the European Union is going to tackle with them. The direction of the Union is clear, so irrespective of the possible obstacles, one or the other way, sooner or later, it guarantees success.

For the time being, the stability of the EU is shaken, but I know it’s the right time to prove its cohesion. Recent developments urge Europe to respond and prove its readiness. The only one the EU has to compete with, is itself.

…if I want to find information concerning the EU and my rights,”Your Europe” section and Europa, as a whole, is the key!

S.Christofyllidis

Leave a Reply

